CompTIA Security+: SY0-601 Certification Guide - Second Edition

By Ian Neil
  1. Free Chapter
    Section 1: Security Aims and Objectives
About this book
The CompTIA Security+ certification validates the fundamental knowledge required to perform core security functions and pursue a career in IT security. Authored by Ian Neil, a world-class CompTIA certification trainer, this book is a best-in-class study guide that fully covers the CompTIA Security+ 601 exam objectives. Complete with chapter review questions, realistic mock exams, and worked solutions, this guide will help you master the core concepts to pass the exam the first time you take it. With the help of relevant examples, you'll learn fundamental security concepts from certificates and encryption to identity and access management (IAM). As you progress, you'll delve into the important domains of the exam, including cloud security, threats, attacks and vulnerabilities, technologies and tools, architecture and design, risk management, cryptography, and public key infrastructure (PKI). You can access extra practice materials, including flashcards, performance-based questions, practical labs, mock exams, key terms glossary, and exam tips on the author's website at By the end of this Security+ book, you'll have gained the knowledge and understanding to take the CompTIA exam with confidence.
Publication date:
December 2020


Objectives for the CompTIA Security+ 601 exam

Listed below are the exam objectives for the CompTIA 601 exam and the relevant chapters in the book where the information is located. There is a comprehensive index to help you find a particular exam topic. Additional resources for the exam can be found at

Details of the exam are as follows:

  • Exam Code: SY0-601
  • Number of questions: Maximum of 90
  • Types of questions: Multiple-choice and performance-based
  • Duration: 90 minutes

Exam Objectives (Domains)

The following tables show the chapters in which the various defined domains measured by the examination are covered:



About the Author
  • Ian Neil

    Ian Neil is one of the world's top trainers of Security+. He is able to break down information into manageable chunks so that people with no background knowledge can gain the skills required to become certified. He has recently worked for the US Army in Europe and designed a Security+ course that catered to people from all backgrounds (not just IT professionals), with an extremely successful pass rate. He is an MCT, MCSE, A+, Network+, Security+, CASP, and RESILIA practitioner, who, over the past 23 years, has worked with high-end training providers and was one of the first technical trainers to train Microsoft internal staff when they opened their Bucharest Office in 2006.

    Browse publications by this author
CompTIA Security+: SY0-601 Certification Guide - Second Edition
Unlock this book and the full library FREE for 7 days
Start now